9

The past week has been amazing mostly due to the fact that I’ve ventured out of my lady-cave (oh how vile and suggestive that sounds, doesn’t it? I am merely  trying to convey the female version of a man-cave but that came out all wrong) and socialized. I made plans with my friends, I made the effort to look nice and I didn’t call them up at the last minute to bail. And I had a lovely time. I should perhaps make more of an effort to interact with civilization seeing how I’m enjoying it a lot.

Also, Tom and I have made plans for me to visit him next month, which is lovely because I’ve not seen him for a good 5 months and that is no way to live really. It hasn’t been set in stone but I’m about 98% sure that I’ll get to spend a bit of the summer with him. It’s always nice to be in the UK in summer when temperatures aren’t in the range of ‘fucking hell this weather is insane I’m staying in’. Summer in the UK also means that I MIGHT not have to pile on more than 2 layers which is great!

I know (from experience) that visiting for short periods of time usually ends in a pool of tears (I cry cause I don’t wanna go home and Tom becomes a wimp and starts crying, too. It’s just a big dramatic mess) and me telling him “I don’t really mind being an illegal immigrant here. JUST LET ME STAY!” But he’ll shoo me into the plane and off I go to Singapore (ie. Ching Chong Land as Tom lovingly calls it).

Ching Chong Land hasn’t been too awful lately. Besides the fact that the temperature is at a steady 32 degrees average even when it’s bloomin’ raining cows, it isn’t all too bad. I met some friends in the past week, I spent money like water on things that I didn’t need but wanted, I ate too much to give a flying fuck, and I met an old friend from years back who said I look much happier now. I don’t know why it means so much to me when people tell me that I look happy, maybe I feel like I need someone, something, to validate the happiness in my life. But I AM happy (even though I’m a kajillion miles away from Tom) and I’m glad that even though I have a lot of depressing internal monologues and even though I seem to be losing it every few days, I’m still able to deal with life and be happy with it.

On a less serious note, I can feel age catching up with me. I may be only 24 but bedtimes at 10pm show otherwise. I used to be able to pull all-nighters and still have energy left to go to work for 10 hours before coming home to die on my bed. When I try to stay up now, it’s usually never past 1am and that’s pretty pathetic if I do say so myself.

I’m currently at work while writing out this post because there’s only so much of ‘doing nothing’ I can do. My eyes are burning cause I’ve been staring at this computer screen for a good 6 hours now. I should go rest my eyes…in the bathroom…maybe have a nap, I don’t know. The possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

